The Journey

These are two more stories written on the same prompt… or perhaps it’s the same story written from different perspectives.

Enjoy

photo-20170220154614795

I should never have come. It’s not my place. We are internet lovers. But this is real life.

He told me not to come, but I really wanted to be the first face he sees in this new city.

I wanted to make sure that he was going to be OK; to make sure his room was clean. I didn’t want him to be ripped off, swindled, as I was when I came from the country all those years ago.

He left home and came to the city to study; deciding that life on a farm was not for him, but life in a kitchen was.

“I just want to cook!” he screamed at his father.

Now he has come, but he is not alone.

“Brian, meet me boyfriend Dale”.

Word Count 130

 

 

“All this will be yours to look after, when I retire son’.

“Dad, it’s not that I am not grateful, but school has taught me that there is life beyond the barbed wire fences and the shearing shed. The wool you produce goes somewhere. The lambs that we raise are eaten by somebody. The wheat that we grow goes into food all over the world. Dad, life is doesn’t stop at the gate.”

I step from the train, into a world of strangers and strangeness. It’s scary for a small-town boy. But I will fight the demons within me and without. This is where my life begins.

Word Count 107

photo-20170220154614072

 

2 Comments

Filed under short stories

2 responses to “The Journey

  1. In the first story he is finding that he wants to cook rather farm! He seems to finding his identity! And in the second story he is also leaving a farm life to a new life. Both great stories, Dave!

  2. I like the second story

Please offer feedback