Share Your World 2014: Week 6

 

Have you watched or plan to watch any of the 2014 Winter Olympics?

The Winter Olympics are not high on an Australians list of “Must See” tv. At the same time of year, one of our national sports is in full swing… Cricket. It would be difficult to play Cricket in the snow. For one thing, in main matches, players wear White, (or traditionally creams) clothing. Balls also tend not to roll very far even when hit on the snow, and running between the wickets when knee deep in snow would not be so easy, nor a real spectator sport. There is very little snow, for such a short period here, that we really don’t get so excited about winter sports. Consequently I didn’t watch very much of the Winter Olympics. I do love watching Curling though, I think its hilarious!

What is your favorite winter Olympic event? Would you ever want to be an expert in that sport?

I really don’t have a favorite event in the winter Olympics. If I were an expert (past tense) I would be retired, or not have to play, so that would be good. I could sit in a heated commentary box and just comment.. There are two things that I am allergic to in this world.

1. Pain and 2. Being Cold. So I guess skiing is out for me. I can do without a broken leg.

Have you ever met an Olympic Athlete?

I am related to a few. Without naming names, I am related to some Olympic Boxers and an Olympic Gymnast.

Do you have a favorite athlete? Name sport.

If I had to choose an Olympic Athlete to admire it would be Kathy Freeman. This little lady is so talented, yet so humble. She wields great power and influence in our country, especially with the indigenous community, but that power doesn’t go to her head. She is still “Our Kathy”. Kathy is an Olympic sprinter.

What is your favorite exercise or sport? Is there a reason why?

For me to do? Oh no… now I am too old and unfit for any sport. I do fish though, does that count?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Please offer feedback