Baked

A boy wanted to keep company, father said.

“He’s a good lad, son of the baker, Tom Woods”

Father organised a meeting for us.  James was to call after church on Sunday and wander with me in the garden.

“I brought you this” said young James. He handed over a loaf of bread, freshly baked.

“I baked it myself, my papa showed me how”.

Such a humble gift, but I received it graciously.

“Mary, We shall have tea and bread in the garden”.

The bread was presented with the tea, I saw it at once. My heart was won.

word count 99

Done for Friday Fictioneers

5 Comments

Filed under literature, short stories

5 responses to “Baked

  1. A match made in the bakery 🙂

  2. It’s the simple things…

  3. They say the way to true love is paved with a happy tummy. 🙂 Enjoyed this one.

Please offer feedback

