Shall I compare Thee

A sonnet after Shakespeare, for my lover Sam.

 

“Shall I compare thee to a summers day?”

 

That day is pale in comparison to you

The sun may warm our skin today

your love warms my whole life through.

Your smile is bright like the stars at night

Your eyes shine as bright as the moon

Your embrace makes everything right

I hate that you must leave so soon

 

The busyness of our days prevent

the time we can  spend together

our last time together came and went

I pray such times should end never .

A time when we can together dwell

Will cause me to shout, All is well!

IMG_2174

3 Comments

Filed under literature, Shakespeare and Renaissance Literature

3 responses to “Shall I compare Thee

  1. Great work Dave! Very inspiring and romantic. Love the photo!

  2. David, it really seems like you have a knack for creative writing. Unlike me, creativity and imagination seem to be a lost cause. I enjoyed the openness you have expressed in you writing and the image assists the writing very well. You really wrote a sonnet that is very similar to the one studied and I think your follow on from “Shall I compare thee to a summers day?” was done with flair. Well done, what a great post! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Peer Review #6 | Literature Exploration

Please offer feedback

