Modern analogy of King Lear opening?

There is a man who lives in a house.

He has 3 pets; 2 dogs and a cat.

The dogs fight for attention. One always throwing herself into his arms, smothering his face with kisses. The other is always bringing gifts, like expensive pieces of wood newly broken from the outdoor lounge, or pieces of ceramic pot. He knows the man love this pot, so the dog brought part of it to the man at the back door.

The third animal is the cat. The cat does what she bleeding well pleases. She sleeps most of the day, comes for cuddles when SHE wants them and scarpers when she doesn’t. She shares the man’s food, although the man doesn’t share hers. The cat does not like the man’s aftershave or deodorant and makes no secret of the fact. The cat loves because that is what is expected every now and then, and doesn’t care if she is ignored when other things are happening. She would more like to curl up in a ball and go to sleep.

Ok, YES. the man is me. The dogs are Buddy and Gracie and the Cat is Brandy…my pet name for her is Puss Puss. It occurred to me this afternoon when I was hanging the washing out just how the two dogs are just like Goneril and Regan, willing to do whatever they thought they needed to to gain my love and approval. They don’t realise I would love them even if they were naughty. The cat is indifferent. She can live without me, however she is annoying when I don’t wish her to sleep on my bed and close the door. She scratches the door very loudly. I have timed her. She can keep it up for 12 minutes straight… and just when you think all is quiet and she has settled for the night…she will start again. I think she is like Cordelia, because she doesn’t let me cuddle or love her more than she is willing to. When she has enough, she pushes away.

The cat knows however, that my love is there for her and she is my favorite. She doesn’t try to win favours by bringing me gifts, or jump into my arms when I am trying to do something else, She patiently waits for me to be ready to give her the cuddles and scratches that she needs.

Hence, I feel like a King, in this palace, my home.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Shakespeare and Renaissance Literature

3 responses to “Modern analogy of King Lear opening?

  1. Animals are a lot of company and give unconditional love. Cats can be a bit independent though. Wonderful to feel like a King in your palace home . 😊

  2. Dogs have masters, cats have servants.
    I can’t put it more succinctly than that. Also Cordelia would be a good name for a moggy, because it’s a royal name, like my late fluffy cat, Shah. Appropriate because all cats behave like they’re royalty.
    Pingback: https://wordpress.com/post/mermaidblues507.wordpress.com/707

  3. Pingback: Summative Entry for Shakespeare and the English Renaissance. | Dave Z'Art

Please offer feedback

