Nobody’s Son

“What is it Fred? What has upset you that you are barking like that?”

Then I saw, underneath the lone street lamp was a pile of rags that I had not seen before. They were dirty, and torn, and protruding from one side was a young leg, with a shoe on it.

The pile moved and I heard a sob coming from the centre.

“Are you ok there?”

A lad of no more than 12 looked up at me with a tear streaked face. He trembled, afraid.

“You better come with me son”, I said.

“I’m not your son. I’m nobody’s son anymore”.

“There is a long story here”, I thought.

“I have meat pies and chips in the oven”.

I turned and walked away.

He followed.

flash fiction

Word Count 127.Now that Uni is finished for the year, I will have more time to devote to my blog.

5 Comments

Filed under short stories

5 responses to “Nobody’s Son

  1. A kind stranger has befriended a poor orphan and offered him friendship and food. Such a feel good story! Love it! Welcome to the FFfAW challenge. We are happy you have joined us!

  2. Nice take, I agree, a much longer story here, but with a hopeful ending perhaps. Well done.

  3. It was interesting. I liked it.

  4. Beautiful story! Finally…someone did not just walk away, but stopped to find out the problem and offered help.

Please offer feedback

