How Studying William Blake has affected me

I used to be religious. Well, not religious as such, but fervent in my belief of and evangelism of God. Then I got honest with myself and others and disclosed my homosexuality. I felt disengaged with the church as it were. I was excluded from some churches because of my sexuality. The churches that did accept my sexuality, I felt compromised on some vital areas of doctrine.

William Blake was also disillusioned with the church or organised religion, but he had a deep understanding of and relationship with God. This is evidenced by his writings and engravings. When I studied the plates that Blake made for The Book of Job, I got a greater understanding of Job, than I ever had before.

Image result for religious

Studying William Blake, and studying in a Catholic University as well as being part of the University Choir, has developed within me the passion to again live a life that is more in line with the gospels and with the tenets of Christ.

Being part of the University has encouraged me to be socially responsible and aware of human rights abuses both in our country and in the world in general. It has pushed me to be active in my faith and not just talk about it but do something about it. I have increased my volunteering where I could, helping those less fortunate than I.

I use my God-given talent of singing for the glory of God. I use my other talents of art, writing, and photography to promote and advance social justice issues, and to fight against human right injustices.

Image result for religious

Studying Blake has helped me to separate the Church from the Word; to follow the Word of God where I find a discrepancy between the two. It made me feel that I am not the only one that is disappointed with organised religion, but seek to follow Christ separate; but also with others in the University choir.

In short, I am more of a Christian now, than before when I was a “Churchy, or God-botherer” as some of my friends described me. I hold true to the teachings of God through Christ but admit I do fail. I don’t beat myself up when I do fail.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways, acknowledge him, and he will direct your paths”.

 

11 Comments

Filed under Visionary Imagination

11 responses to “How Studying William Blake has affected me

  1. I had 2 brothers who were gay. Our father frightened them at a very young age. They never bonded because of his bad temper.

    • When I came out, my father who was dying at the time, made it his goal to make sure I was comfortable and loved. I think we were closer during this period than any before. The rest of my family however has rejected me.

      • They were 2 of my older brothers. I always loved them even though our ideologies were opposite, and I think they loved me. I’m glad you still follow Christ to the best of your ability instead of rejecting Him as many like yourself do, as you surely know.

  2. Hello Dave!

    I’m happy to see your association with God and religion has expanded and the you feel more welcome in your religion than ever. Although, it disappoints me to see that individuals a disregarded from religion and are told they are disbelievers because of a political agenda. Unfortunately, this is the thing that drives individuals out of religion then gradually lose there association with God. Religion ought to welcome various types of individuals as that builds the association amongst God and humankind. I really do hope you continue on doing what you do.

    • Thanks Mahdi. I really feel closer to God now, studying Blake and being part of the choir than I have felt for such a long time. Dony at Campus Ministry is also part of my spiritual life. I also meditate daily which helps.

  3. Pingback: Week 6 – Peer Review- ENGL329 | Mahdi Hussain

  4. Keep searching, you will find a church where you feel you fit just perfectly.

  5. That is a fabulous entry David! I really feel that Blake has found someone who sees what he was about. I am so pleased that you are finding the content meaty and experiential! It is great having you on board.
    Good wishes
    MG

  6. Hi David,

    Reading of your life’s journey as influenced by Blake is both enlightening and humbling! That you have learnt to separate the Church from the Word of God is indeed powerful stuff! Also, to see how you’ve taken your God-given talents and passed them forward to the Universe is very inspiring:

    “I use my God-given talent of singing for the glory of God. I use my other talents of art, writing, and photography to promote and advance social justice issues, and to fight against human right injustices”

    A peer review really doesn’t suffice in moments like this! I came across your post after what has been and continues to be a very difficult week, and in my quest to achieve everything, and help everyone, I truly did forget put my trust in God! The quote you include in your post from Proverbs 3:5-6 is a timely reminder:

    “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways, acknowledge him, and he will direct your paths”.

    I have to agree with Michael that you are truly someone who sees what he Blake is all about!

    Well done, and thanks for sharing your incredible story with us!

    A-M

  7. Pingback: ENGL329 – PEER REVIEW 4 – Anne-Marie Dimarco

Please offer feedback

