SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 14

If you could hire someone to help you, would it be with cleaning, cooking, or yard work?

I have before hired guys to help in the garden as I am just not capable anymore. Nowadays though, I am not too capable with the housework either. So if I could hire a live in guy to do both gardening and housework it would be awesome. I enjoy cooking though, so it would be a trade-off. He cleans and gardens and I fill him with good food.

What makes you laugh the most?

Intelligent wit. The type you find on British comedies or aussie humour  like comedians Adam Hill or Graham Norton.

My latest dad joke: Why don’t Whales have balls? Because they can’t dance.

What was your favorite food when you were a child?

When I went to visit my grandfather, he would make a big pot of Sago pudding, just for me and him. Much to the disgust of my mother, we would not even use bowls but eat it straight from the pot. It was a special time that he and I shared. None of my other brothers liked it, just me, and he never failed to have some waiting when he knew we were going to arrive.

List at least five favorite flowers or plants.

Lagerstroemia Indica. Commonly called Crepe Myrtle

Wysteria grandiflora: your common Wisteria

Buddleia davidii: I think its sometimes called Butterfly bush

Tibouchina Alstonville: sometimes called Lasiandra

Brunsfelsia latifolia: yesterday, today and tomorrow.

Now I realise that all of these plants have purple flowers. How odd as I don’t necessarily like purple elsewhere.

Others I would include are Jacaranda (also purple), fuchsia, freesia, and frangipani. Some fuchsias and freesias are purple but frangipani is white, or yellow, or sometimes pink. I prefer the white.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful for my time spent at The Big Issue, last week, and this week I am looking forward to finishing a couple of essays I am working on.

 

041514-sywbanner

5 Comments

Filed under Comments and classwork

5 responses to “SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 14

  1. I like your choices of flowering bushes/trees. Wonderful…. Thanks Dave for sharing this week.

  2. Hmmm, if you could hire someone to help you? Great question. 🙂 I would love to hire someone to take care of everything to do with cooking – from shopping for the food, to cooking it, to cleaning up afterwards. I am not a natural cook although I love good food. For me the thing which goes most often with my cooking is a fire extinguisher! My son frequently asks me if I will be turning dinner to charcoal in the oven or just exploding it in the microwave.
    lol Really interesting post!

    • At one stage in my life, I worked in an emergency foster care place. We had a lad from a very rich family staying with us. One night, I burnt the chops a little. He said “I’m not eating that, they are burnt.”
      I replied ” have you never had this in a restaurant before? It’s called charcoal chops, a delicacy.” He ate them all. Lol

  3. Ahhhh, to find home help as cute as he is! You should make a rule that they have to work shirtless. As for the cooking. . .how about a naked chef (or only an apron)?

    The flowers are beautiful – and not necessarily purple. Both wisteria and jacaranda have a variety with white flowers. You can imagine what I did when I found those.

Please offer feedback

