Share Your World 2016: Week # 3

What is your favorite piece of art? (it doesn’t have to be famous)weary

This is a piece called Weary. It is by the artist Florence Fuller. She painted at age 21, it in 1888, using oils on canvas. It depicts a homeless child on the streets of Melbourne, showing the docklands in the background. I am passionate about social justice and when I first saw this hanging in the Art Gallery of NSW, I was taken with it. I copied it using different brush techniques and slightly different colours for one of my works in my Uni course in 2015.

What made you smile today?

Well, I am writing this at 5 am on a Sunday morning after having a sleepless night tossing in bed. But already my cat has made me smile. She ran to the kitchen ahead of me when I was going to prepare breakfast, and she laid in front of me, as she often does, not moving until i bent down to give her a rub and a scratch. After doing this post, I shall be returning to bed. Sam is working until 2, so I can afford a few hours sleep before we go out for drinks and dinner later.

Which place do you recommend as a Must-See? Please state which country, state or providence.

In Sydney, you must go to Mrs Macquarie’s Chair. It is at the end of Art Gallery road, just past the Royal Botanical Gardens. From there you have the best view of the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House than from anywhere else in Sydney. Mrs Macquarie was the wife of Governor Lachlan Macquarie who was the fifth Governor of NSW. While he was famous for his treating released convicts as valued members of society, it was Elizabeth who was a pioneer in the agriculture endeavours of the new colony. It was Elizabeth who introduced the Merino Sheep to Australia, and she is also credited with starting the growing of hay as an agricultural commodity in Australia. Elizabeth was known for her interest in the welfare of female convicts and for indigenous people in the colony. Mrs Macquarie was a journal keeper and many are still on display in the Library and Museum, not far from her famous chair. It is said she used to sit there and watch the ships coming into harbour, and leaving for England. She wrote many poems from this point.

IMG_5991

Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge taken from Mrs Macquarie’s Chair.

Complete this sentence: When I was younger I used to…

…be a whole lot fitter. I was involved in so many sports in my twenties, then took up bushwalking and swimming in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney. That all ended at age 32 when I fell very ill and could no longer compete in sport, or even walk too far. I have never fully recovered really, as the side effects from the medication I was given have life long effects.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful that I was in a traffic jam this week. It made me realise that if I am in a traffic jam, then I own a car, I don’t have to walk or use public transport. I am looking forward to Australia day on Tuesday. It is Sam’s first as a Permanent resident of Australia, so we are going to do the traditional Aussie thing and have a Bar B Que somewhere, possibly in Kangaroo Valley.

P.S. This post was further delayed by my cat who decided that I had not given her enough pats yet.

041514-sywbanner

1 Comment

Filed under Comments and classwork

One response to “Share Your World 2016: Week # 3

  1. Great responses Dave. You are sharing some lovely, positive qualities. Have a great BBQ on Australia Day.

Please offer feedback

