The beauty pageant

white peacock.jpg

The day of the pageant finally came. Jeremy was a bit embarrassed though. Every girl looked at Patrick and was all oohs and aahs. Jeremy’s mum said he was just as good looking as all the other boys. “But she has to say that right? “

“Look at Patrick”, Jeremy thought “The girls just flock to him”.

The teachers herded the boys together. “Come on. Come on, line up. Peter stop chewing. George, you should have gone before. Line up with the other boys”.

The first round of judging came back. It was down to two”.

Ok”, the teachers said “We have made a decision”.

“Jeremy! You win this year’s beauty pageant.

“But… but… there must be some mistake. I’m an albino.”

 

8 Comments

Filed under short stories, Uncategorized

8 responses to “The beauty pageant

  1. I love the idea of a boys’ beauty pageant. Nicely done 🙂

  2. Great story! Jeremy is not use to being considered beautiful since he is an albino. I think it is wonderful that he won the beauty pageant!

  3. I agree the notion of a boys pageant is an intriguing idea, well done..

  4. I like how you wrote something I would never have thought of, but still fits really well with the prompt picture.

  5. Deb

    Funny I thought Jeremy was going to be the dark peacock, not the white one…as they say beauty is in the eye of the beholder…nice twist to your story.

  6. At the beginning of the story I thought Jeremy was the brown peafowl in the right of the picture, so it was a nice twist for me when I realized he was the white one. 🙂

  7. Well done. The differences are what make us beautiful! But some are more noticed than others… I agree.

Please offer feedback

