No Ordinary Shift

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

“You can’t go in there mate”, they said.

I pushed one bloke away and punched another. Then free, ran to the house. I crashed hard through the door, landing in a heap on the floor

“Margaret! Jimmy!” Silence above the roar of the flames. Water fell and smoke billowed as I rushed up the stairs to Jimmy’s room; ignoring my training about the danger. Through the flames and smoke, I perceived the room to be empty. I leaned out the window to see my family with a neighbour, shouting and waving up to me.

Safe, crying,  I could breathe again.

100 words

5 Comments

Filed under short stories

5 responses to “No Ordinary Shift

  1. Very intense, I could feel his desperation and sighed along with him in the end.

  2. I hope he can retrace his steps!
    Good piece.

  3. Great tension! Well done. 🙂

  4. The panic of a parent… very well done!

  5. At least that one has a happy ending. . .providing the firey can escape now.

Please offer feedback

