Share Your World – 2015 Week #4

041514 sywbanner

Where did you live at age five?  Is it the same place or town you live now?

I grew up on a small property next to Breakfast Creek in a town called Marayong, which is part of the city of Blacktown in NSW Australia. I was there from age 5 to 21. I have many fond memories of the land and family and friends that shared it with us. We had many a scout camp, cricket game, bike and car trails, and tree and cubby houses. Now, the original house is surrounded by many others as developers bought the place off my parents and subdivided it into may small lots which then sold for a fortune.

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met.  Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself?

Most definitely. Over the last year, I have been privileged to be invited to attend and speak at functions with people I would never hope to meet otherwise. I enjoy meeting people and knowing something of their private lives… lives the public doesnt see and can’t imagine.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

As above, I grew up in a very small community. I loved it, and if i was inclined to marry and have children, I would hope for a community just like the one I was raised in.

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted o be a pilot with the Air Force. I had it all figured out. I would work for 22 years, from age 15 to age 37 after which I would be entitled to a full pension and never have to work again. Well, as they say, “the best laid plans of mice and men”… at age 12 I had to have glasses, which stopped my career as a pilot for good. Life would have been much different had these plans succeeded. After my dreams were shot down (excuse the pun), I decided that I would make a go of singing and acting, and did that as a sideline career along with retailing until I was in my early 30’s.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful that work has picked up and I have some extra income. I am tired, but its a good tired. I am looking forward to working more this week but also my first Polly’s Club meeting. Sam and I have decided to volunteer at this worthwhile but fun charity. Polly’s club runs four dances and drag shows for the gay community each year. Any proceeds go towards helping those with HIV and AIDS through the Bobby Goldsmith foundation.

1 Comment

Filed under Comments and classwork

One response to “Share Your World – 2015 Week #4

  1. Thanks so very much for sharing with us this week. 🙂

Please offer feedback

