Share Your World – 2015 Week #3

041514-sywbanner

Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?

I would love to have Dick Smith (famous Australian philanthropist and aviator). He is a person I admire greatly, as you can gather from my previous essay on him. (https://s00156364.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/dick-smith-essay-3/) . I have since been a little perplexed by his sustainable population theories and ideas and I would love the opportunity to question him about them.

When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else?

Oh, I am always singing. I grew up as a boy soprano and later a tenor. I don’t think I have sung today but  I certainly did at work last night. A fellow worker and I were talking Karaoke, she likes Janis Joplin’s, “Mercedes Benz” so we started singing that. Then I told her that I am getting married in December (hopefully) so we were singing “Going to the Chapel”. I’m not sure if I sung in the car today, but it’s not unusual to look across at me at the traffic lights to see me (if not hear me) belting out a tune.

If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be?

to do watercolours as good as Sadami, who is an incredibly talented artist friend in my sketch group. She is amazing!

What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about? 

Human rights. I am passionate that everyone should be treated equally. And that means with the highest respect. Whether the person is homeless, drug addicted, a sex worker, an asylum seeker, a prisoner or an ordinary citizen we each have the right to be treated with dignity and to be treated with compassion.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Some days I am grateful for the sunshine, sometimes the cooling effect of the late afternoon storm. Today I am grateful that I live in a temperate climate with no extremes. In Australia right now, it is the wet season up north, and roads, cars houses are being washed away by torrential rain and flash floods. While at the same time there are parts of our country that haven’t seen a drop of rain for seven years (Lightning Ridge, Nyngan). Each time the drought is broken in the bush, there are news reports of kids scared by the water falling from the sky, having never seen it before.

I am grateful that I am enrolled for Uni, and Orientation week, and that went without a hitch. I am grateful that work is starting to pick up which gives me an opportunity to stock up on some food.

I am looking forward to spending time with my Sam, on any days he may have off. I hope he can get to a dentist soon as he has a sore tooth.

2 Comments

Filed under Comments and classwork

2 responses to “Share Your World – 2015 Week #3

  1. I love your answer about human rights.

    • My boyfriend loved it too. He said that we should love each other equally and asked if that meant he had to share me with the world. I told him boyfriends got special privileges. I am allowed to love him more equally than I love others. LOL. Dave

Please offer feedback

