Share Your World – 2014 Week 50

Do you have a signature dish? If not is their one in your family?

My signature dish is called Thai Chuck Stir Fry..In a deep fry-pan with a desert spoon of Olive oil, Brown your meat (chicken, pork or beef), select a whole heap of fresh vegetables, chop and chuck ’em in. Stir fry till heated through. Don’t over cook vegetables. Add a sauce (oyster, a little fish, honey and soy), Prepare Hokkein noodles and chuck ’em in. stir through and serve. Depending on how many vegetables you use, and how big your appetite is, it can serve up to 6 people, or 6 meals to be frozen.

For Vegetables, select what is in season. Go for Bok Choy for a leafy green, broccolini or brocolli, mushrooms, capsicum, tomato, zucchini, cauliflower, carrots, baby corn, water chestnuts, whateer you desire.

Do you have a favorite board game? 

no, I am not competitve. My housemate has been trying to rope me in to playing this game with cards where you have to build roads and buy trading commodities etc, but really I am not interested.

Is there a household chore that you enjoy?

I do enjoy mowing the lawn, however, once any chore is done I can look back on it with pride and happiness at my acheivement… until next time it needs doing.

 What is one thing you will never care about?

Insurance. Insurance is “what if” money. It is a pessimistic way of looking at the world. Life insurance? I have nobody to leave money to if and when I die. Sam is self sufficient and doesn’t want or need me to pay for things for him. Funeral Insurance? I really don’t care what happens to my body when I am not using it anymore. Science can have it and burn the body when they are done. Comprehensive car insurance? It means I am insuring against my abilities as a driver. Do I have no confidence in my driving? I am a very safe driver who doesn’t intend to get into an accident where I will be liable for costs. Insurance salesmen hate me because I don’t play the “what if” game.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming

Last week I was able to have lunch with many friends from the marginalised community. I am grateful to Mission Australia, and their partners Lend Lease in providing the lunch and for the many friends I have made their as I continue along the path that is called life. I am looking forward to spending time with Sam on Christmas day along with other guys as we have our annual picnic in the park. I am looking forward to sharing food, fun and friendships with those who attend.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Share Your World – 2014 Week 50

  1. Thanks so much Dave for sharing this week. 🙂

  2. Wow, your signature dish sounds delicious! You can come cook for me anytime!

Please offer feedback

