Share Your World – 2014 Week 17

What are some words that just make you smile?

Serendipity, Superfluous, Adorable

When you lose electricity in a storm, do you light the candles or turn on the flashlight? How many of each do you own?

I own scented candles, but not regular ones, I don’t own a flashlight except for the one in my phone. I do own a car though and can travel to somewhere where there is power or just drive if I want. But quite happy to sit in the dark if its just for a little while.

What is the longest book you ever read?

Well, does the Bible count? I don’t know really. I never count the pages, I am too preoccupied with the story-line to worry. I have read Sterling Macaboy’s “What Flower is that?” that’s pretty big. Read a number of series of books, especially by Orson Scott Card.

So you win a pet monkey at a fair, but this isn’t just any old monkey. It can do one trick for you whenever you want from getting a pop out of the fridge to washing your hair. What would be the trick?

I had a pet monkey when I was a missionary in the Phillipines. Its name was Moy Moy. It had a trick of making anything in your top pocket disappear without you noticing. If something was missing you could often find it in Moy Moy’s gullet. Monkeys have a small pouch under their tongue which they use to store food until they are hungry. Put your finger in Moy Moy’s gullet to bring out pens, keys, all sorts of things… including cockroaches and other insects waiting to be chewed and ingested.. Moy Moy had another trick. That was to destroy any plate that you presented his food on. nothing was safe. I even bought him an enamel plate thinking he cant destroy that. took him about an hour. when he discovered that he couldnt simply break it by chewing or banging it on the ground, he took it repeatedly to the top of his tree and hurled it down with all his force. After about an hour, the thing was dented chipped and didn’t much resemble the plate I had purchased one day ago.

If I had a pet monkey today, all I would want him to do is be a companion. To sit on my shoulders or in my arms, and pick what imaginary lice and nits he could find off me and eat them. then cuddle me. I loved that aspect to Moy Moy and miss it.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful that I am still alive. I was in the midst of great depression. At times I even contemplated suicide. But I am coming out of it now, I can see the light. I am looking forward to completing this uni essay that is giving me much grief.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Please offer feedback

