Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction: “Strine”

 

We in Australia don’t only speak the “King’s English” as some believe. We have a dialect all of our own. It is called “Strine” ( short for Australian.. in accent).

 

I shall proceed to tell you a story, in first person, of a family trip to the beach.

clovelly 001

 

G’day, when we got up this morning, it was a beaut day for a dip in the sea. So I woke the missus and kids and told em we would go. I chucked on my blue singlet, my boardies with budgie smugglers underneath, told the kids to put their togs on and said “Get the lead out, lets go!”

We jumped in the ute, click clacked front and back, ( I got a dual cab), and off we trotted to the coast. Of course, in the back I always kept the spare barbie and bottle. Before we left home, I filled the esky with some tinnies, snags, couple of rumps (for the missus and me), and my wife made some healthy green stuff.

When we got out of the car, the asphalt was so hot you could fry and egg on it, so i shouted to the kids to make sure they put their thongs on. We did the trek across the sand and set up at our spot. We slip, slop, slapped then the little tykes went for a dip. The missus set up a beach shelter and went to sleep. I looked around and saw me mate Trev. “Oi”, I said, “Trev, over ere!”

“Oh G’day” said Trev, “After seeing you pull an all-nighter at the pub last night, I didn’t expect you to see daylight today. How did you pull up?”

” Not too shabby,” I said ” I don’t think we will see Davo for a week though, he did the techno yawn into the porcelain after the 3am kebab. He was really under the weather. You here with Shaz?”

“Nah, she has gone to see her mum, but I got the youngens ere somewhere, better go back to my spot in case they chuck a wobbly when they can’t find me. Come over later and I will shout you one.”

” Ok,” I replied ” Did ya bring a trannie? Forgot mine and its the second day of the test today.”

and so it goes on… I could go on to explain the ins and outs of (arguably) our national game, cricket, but I think I may have caused enough confusion for one day.

Dave

1 Comment

Filed under literature, short stories

One response to “Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction: “Strine”

  1. LOLOL!

    You did know that Strine was invented (or observed) by a man who called himself Afferbeck Lauder in the 60s. His real name was Alastair Ardoch Morrison.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Afferbeck_Lauder
    http://jendi.bowmeow.com.au/strine1.html

Please offer feedback

